News

3K2A1582-1

By Denis Bourbonnais

Bert Henderson has already left his mark on the hydroplane racing world and Sunday, at the 78th edition of the Régates de Valleyfield, he added to his already impressive legacy.

The driver from Brockville (Ontario) dominated a very competitive Grand Prix class and led the GP-777 Steeler to a decisive victory in the final presented in front of 30,000 spectators spread around the Saint-François Bay.

The 3rd lane belonged to Henderson, who pushed his hydroplane to take the lead at the exit of the crucial first turn. Tom Pakradooni in the GP-88 Rolling Thunder was insistent for half of the race, but his opponent built up a gap that could not be closed, winning with a lead of over 4 seconds. Henderson completed the 4 laps in 2 minutes and 32 seconds, going at an average of 160 km/h, and was crowned in Valleyfield for the 3rd time in the Grand Prix class.

Andrew Tate was in good position to offer great opposition to the defending champion, since he was starting from the inner lane, as he cumulated the most points in the qualifying heats. The young driver from Walled Lake (Michigan) however put himself out of the competition when he lost control of the GP-101 Fat Chance Too 10 seconds prior to the beginning of the race.

Pierre Maheu made a successful return to the Régates de Valleyfield, standing on the 3rd step of the podium after a good performance in Ken Brodie’s GP-50 Intensity. A two-time winner in Valleyfield, Maheu was followed by Marty Wolfe (GP-93), Éric Langevin (GP-12), who had to start from the second line, and Tom Thompson (GP-525).

Bert Henderson has won all three Grand Prix finals held this season in the Hydroplane Racing League (HRL). He celebrated like it was his first victory in Valleyfield. “Winning here the same year as my brother (Kent) makes it even more special”, he mentioned on the champions’ dock. “It is special because of you, the best fans in the world. I also have to thank Mike Endres, Jeff Richards, Huey Newport, the whole crew and my family”, added an emotional Henderson, holding his young son.

Pierre Maheu was in a festive mood too, happy with the results he obtained after a 4-year hiatus. “Very few people thought we could get into the final”, said the Saint-Michel-de-Napierville resident, who started from the 5th lane.

The four other Quebeckers in the GP class, Mario Blain (GP-757), Mathieu Daoust (GP-9), Martin Rochon (GP-77) and Bertrand Dulude (GP-48), enjoyed successful runs in the qualifying heats, but could not make their way into the main event of the weekend. Tom Thompson was granted his spot in the final by winning the consolation race.

Éric Langevin unfortunately had to start 5 seconds behind the first line, due to a tie with Pierre Maheu in the total points cumulated throughout the weekend. As per the rules, in case of a tie, the points from the last qualification determine the place from which each competitor will take the start. The referees had to look back at the second qualifying heat in which Langevin finished 2nd (heat 2C), while Maheu ended first in his round because of a penalty to Mathieu Daoust (heat 2A).

Brandon Kennedy could not capitalize on the successful weekend he had in Brockville because of steering problems on the GP-25 H8 Cancer Racing. In the overall standings, Bert Henderson is up to 414 points, 8 points behind Marty Wolfe, who still holds the top of the rankings. Éric Langevin and Tom Pakradooni are tied in 3rd place with 379 points.

To read the article in the Journal Saint-François: http://www.journalsaint-francois.ca/sports/2016/7/18/bert-henderson-impose-sa-loi.html [French version only]

Share

Back to News

Actualité

3K2A1582-1

Par Denis Bourbonnais

Bert Henderson faisait déjà partie des grands du sport motonautique et dimanche, aux 78e Régates de Valleyfield, il a ajouté un fleuron à sa couronne déjà bien garnie.

Le pilote de Brockville (Ontario) s’est imposé dans une classe Grand Prix plus relevée que jamais et il a mené le GP-777 Steeler à la victoire dans la finale présentée devant près de 30 000 spectateurs réunis autour de la baie Saint-François.

Henderson s’est élancé du 3e corridor et il a propulsé son embarcation en tête à la sortie du crucial premier tournant. Tom Pakradooni, à bord du GP-88 Rolling Thunder, lui a livré une solide opposition pour la moitié de la course ultime avant de voir son adversaire creuser l’écart et l’emporter par plus de 4 secondes. Henderson a complété les 4 tours en 2 minutes et 32 secondes pour s’assurer d’un 3e sacre à Valleyfield en Grand Prix et ce, à une vitesse frôlant les 160 km/h de moyenne.

Andrew Tate se promettait de donner du fil à retordre au champion de la saison 2015 après avoir décroché le couloir intérieur aux commandes du GP-101 Fat Chance Too, grâce au meilleur cumulatif de points en qualification. Le jeune conducteur de Walled Lake (Michigan) s’est toutefois sorti de la course quand il a perdu la maîtrise de son bolide au moment de s’engager dans son corridor à moins de 10 secondes du départ.

Pierre Maheu a pour sa part effectué un excellent retour aux Régates de Valleyfield en accédant à la 3e marche du podium en vertu de sa performance au volant GP-50 Intensity de Ken Brodie. Le double vainqueur à Valleyfield a devancé Marty Wolfe (GP-93), Éric Langevin (GP-12), qui a dû partir en retrait sur la 2e ligne de départ, et Tom Thompson (GP-525).

Bert Henderson, qui a triomphé dans les trois finales GP disputées cette année sur le circuit de la Ligue de Régates d’Hydroplanes HRL, a célébré comme si c’était une première fois à Valleyfield. «C’est très spécial de gagner ici la même année que mon frère (Kent)», a-t-il signifié sur le quai des champions. «C’est spécial à cause de vous, les meilleurs fans. Merci à Mike Endres, Jeff Richards, Huey Newport, toute mon équipe et ma famille», de dire Henderson, les trémolos dans la voix, en présence de son jeune fils.

Pierre Maheu, quant à lui, se réjouit du résultat obtenu après un hiatus de quatre années. «Peu de gens croyaient qu’on pouvait atteindre en finale», a lancé le résidant de Saint-Michel-de-Napierville, qui a décollé à l’extérieur dans le 5e couloir.

Les quatre autres Québécois inscrits en GP, Mario Blain (GP-757), Mathieu Daoust (GP-9), Martin Rochon (GP-77) et Bertrand Dulude (GP-48), ont connu leur part de succès dans les vagues de qualification mais ils n’ont pu se tailler une place en vue de la course ultime. Tom Thompson a enlevé tout espoir aux non-qualifiés en remportant l’épreuve consolation pour se frayer un chemin vers la finale.

Éric Langevin a eu la déception de partir 5 secondes derrière la première ligne de départ après avoir fini à égalité avec Pierre Maheu au total des points dans les qualifications. Le règlement stipule qu’il faut départager la position sur la grille selon le dernier résultat. Dans le cas de Langevin, il fallait remonter à la 2e séance de qualifications où il avait terminé 2e (groupe 2C) alors que Maheu avait profité d’une pénalité imposée à Mathieu Daoust pour gagner la course (2A).

Quant à Brandon Kennedy, il a éprouvé des ennuis avec les câbles de direction du GP-25 Team H8 Cancer et il n’a pu poursuivre sur sa lancée entamée aux Régates de Brockville. Dans la course au championnat, Bert Henderson, avec 414 points, a réduit à 8 points l’avance de Marty Wolfe au sommet du classement. Éric Langevin et Tom Pakradooni sont ex aequo en 3e place avec une récolte de 379 points.

Lire la nouvelle dans le Journal Saint-François : http://www.journalsaint-francois.ca/sports/2016/7/18/bert-henderson-impose-sa-loi.html

Partager

Retour à l'actualité