News

f2500-stevenson-champion

By Éric Tremblay

After flipping last year, Rob Stevenson raced all the way to the champions’ dock on Sunday. The driver of the F-10 Wet Spot, who announced he was competing for the last time in Valleyfield, was almost dethroned by Donald Leduc in the last leg of the race.

“Winning Valleyfield is always special, said the champion. This is my last time at the Régates de Valleyfield. I am retiring at the end of the season, so it is nice to go out with a bang.”

However, the Ontarian almost saw victory slip through his fingers. The defending champion Donald Leduc came close to stealing the first position in the last of five laps. The F-1 Cannonball’s driver tried all he could, but was 0.61 seconds shy of a victory. “I did not see him. I did not think he was that close”, explained Stevenson.

The American Howard Schabolk in the F-80 On the Edge was a favorite heading into the final, but missed the last turn before the start and was never a threat thereafter.

Divided qualifications

Other than Schnabolk (2), Leduc and Stevenson, Leah Hoosick in the F-27 Chaotic Dream and Thomas Huganir in the F-69 Busted Prop Racing also won qualifying heats.

The fastest time was registered in the very first race on Saturday morning by the F-1 Cannonball, with 4 min 4 sec, 75. Leduc could not keep going at the same pace after. In fact, a last place in the 2nd heat of qualifications led him to start the final in the 7th lane.

Douglas Rapp came out victorious in the consolation final with the F-79 Bad Influence, followed by Tyler Kaddatz in the F-519 Ahh Sum Secret, a mere 0.58 seconds behind. Rapp took the third position in the final.

15 hydroplanes took part in the competition in this class in Valleyfield.

To read the article in the Journal Saint-François: http://www.journalsaint-francois.ca/sports/2016/7/18/dernier-tour-de-piste-victorieux-pour-rob-stevenson.html [French version only]

Share

Back to News

Actualité

f2500-stevenson-champion

Par Éric Tremblay

Après s’être envolé l’an dernier, Rob Stevenson s’est catapulté sur le quai des champions dimanche. Le pilote du F-10 Wet Spot, qui effectuait ses derniers tours de piste à Valleyfield, a cependant failli être surpris par Donald Leduc dans le dernier droit.

«C’est toujours un sentiment incroyable de remporter Valleyfield, a dit le champion. D’autant plus que ce sont mes dernières Régates de Valleyfield, je me retire à la fin de la saison. »

L’Ontarien est cependant passé bien près de voir la victoire lui filer entre les doigts. Le champion en titre, Donald Leduc, aux commandes du F-1 Cannonball, a tout fait, mais est demeuré 0,61 seconde derrière son rival. «Je ne l’ai jamais vu, je ne croyais pas qu’il était rendu si près de moi», a confié Stevenson.

Le favori en prévision de cette finale, l’Américain Howard Schabolk dans le F-80 On the Edge, a raté son dernier virage avant le départ, si bien qu’il n’a jamais été dans le coup.

Qualifications partagées

Outre Schnabolk (2), Leduc et Stevenson, Leah Hoosick du F-27 Chaotic Dream et Thomas Huganir du F-69 Busted Prop Racing ont remporté des qualifications.

Le temps le plus rapide a été réalisé lors de la toute première course samedi matin par le F-1 Cannonball, soit 4 min 4 sec, 75. Leduc n’a su garder la cadence ensuite. Il a notamment été doublé lors d’une course, si bien qu’il s’est qualifié dans le septième corridor.

Douglas Rapp est sorti victorieux de la consolation dans le F-79 Bad Influence. Il a devancé le F-519 Ahh Sum Secret de Tyler Kaddatz par 0,58 seconde, pour finalement terminer en 3e position lors de la finale.

On notait 15 embarcations dans cette classe à Valleyfield.

Lire la nouvelle dans le Journal Saint-François : http://www.journalsaint-francois.ca/sports/2016/7/18/dernier-tour-de-piste-victorieux-pour-rob-stevenson.html

Partager

Retour à l'actualité