News

hydro-350-henderson-champion

By Éric Tremblay

With 25 teams in the race, the Hydro 350 class was as competitive as ever. Many drivers had their best weekend this season, giving the favorites a run for their money. Veteran Kent Henderson enjoyed his first ever win in Valleyfield, in a 3-lap final, cut short by a collision between Nicolas Rousse and Sylvain Dorais.

“It has always been a dream of mine to win here, said Kent Henderson. A lot of the credit goes to my team that works tirelessly to make sure my boat is up to part.”

The H-777 Team Toban has been the one to beat ever-since the competition in Brockville. His crew made a few adjustments on the hull to make it what it is today.

“Of course, I would have liked to get a full 5-lap race, he added. I did not see what happened, but I do hope both drivers are okay.”

Behind him, Nicolas Rousse and Sylvain Dorais were battling over the third position. The H-225 Boutin Harley Davidson Valleyfield tried to get in better position for the last turn in the third lap. The hydroplane hooked and the H-32 Octane Stratégies/C’est la vie could not avoid it. Dorais found himself stuck under his opponent.

Unable to open the cockpit, he had to get out from the trap under the boat. Nicolas Rousse was a little more shaken. “I am okay, I just got out of the hospital, he wrote on Facebook. My neck and back hurt, but I’m glad no one got seriously injured. I want to thank everyone for their support.”

Derec Smith, in the H-13 Team H8 Cancer and Donny Allen, with the H-14 Legacy 1, round up the podium.

Haineault forfeits

By the end of the first day of qualifications, Richard Haineault was first in the standings. However, tragedy struck on Sunday, as the right side of his hull was badly damaged. The H-2 Miss Beauharnois was then out of competition for the rest of the weekend.

Michel Raymond’s M2K had a similar fate. Because of a penalty in Sunday morning’s qualification, he had to participate in the consolation final during which, in the first lap, he did a complete 360º flip. The driver landed safely, left with only a memorable scare and damaged pontoons.

Surprising results

Nine different drivers collected a victory during the qualifying heats. Henderson, Dorais and Rousse took two. A lot of penalties shook up the normal order. Competition was so close that the winner of one of the qualifications had to be determined with a photo finish. Nicolas Rousse crossed the finish line 0.17 seconds in front of Jimmy King.

Defending champion King was not able to get into the final. Neither did Rémy Leblanc and Patrick Haworth, who were also among the leaders in the standings.

Consolation finals saw two newcomers, Donny Allen and Jonathan Daoust (H-15 Constructeck/Canadian Tire), come out victorious.

To read the article in the Journal Saint-François: http://www.journalsaint-francois.ca/sports/2016/7/18/kent-henderson-resiste-a-l-hecatombe.html [French version only]

Share

Back to News

Actualité

hydro-350-henderson-champion

Par Éric Tremblay

Avec 25 inscrits, la classe Hydro 350 a réservé son lot de surprises. Plusieurs pilotes ont livré leur meilleur week-end de la saison ce qui a coupé court aux aspirations de quelques favoris. Le vétéran Kent Henderson a savouré un premier triomphe à Valleyfield dans une finale réduite à trois tours en raison d’un incident entre Nicolas Rousse et Sylvain Dorais.

«Gagner ici a toujours été un rêve, signifie Kent Henderson. Je dois rendre crédit à mon équipe qui a travaillé sans relâche pour me fournir une embarcation performante. »

Son H-777 Team Toban est devenu la machine à battre depuis les Régates de Brockville. Ses équipiers ont effectué plusieurs réparations et ajustement à la coque afin de l’amener là où elle est.

«C’est sûr que j’aurais aimé faire l’épreuve de cinq tours, a-t-il confié. Je n’ai pas vu ce qui s’est passé à l’arrière, mais j’espère que les pilotes sont corrects. »

À l’arrière, Nicolas Rousse et Sylvain Dorais étaient impliqués dans une bagarre pour la troisième position. Le H-225 Boutin Harley Davidson Valleyfield a tenté de s’insérer dans un corridor plus avantageux au dernier virage de son troisième tour. Son embarcation a cependant effectué un crochet et le H-32 Octane Stratégies/C’est la vie n’a pu l’éviter. Il s’est retrouvé coincé sous son opposant.

Incapable d’ouvrir son cockpit, il a dû sortir par la trappe sous la plancher. Nicolas Rousse a été davantage secoué. «Je me porte bien, je viens de sortir de l’hôpital, a-t-il rassuré via Facebook. Plutôt mal au cou et dos, mais le principal est que personne n’a été blessé gravement. Merci à tous pour votre support. »

Derec Smith du H-13 Team H8 Cancer et Donny Allen du H-14 Legacy 1 ont complété le podium.

Haineault déclare forfait

À l’issue de la première journée de qualification, Richard Haineault trônait au sommet du classement. Le malheur l’a cependant frappé le lendemain alors que l’arrière droit de sa coque a été lourdement endommagé. Le week-end du H-2 Miss Beauharnois a ainsi pris fin.

Même chose pour Michel Raymond dans le H-71 M2K Racing. Pénalisé en qualification dimanche matin, il a été contraint de passer par la consolation. Au premier tour, l’embarcation a effectué un 360° complet dans les airs. Le pilote en a été quitte pour une frousse mémorable, tandis que les pontons de sa coque nécessiteront des réparations. 

Rebondissements

Neuf pilotes différents ont remporté au moins une qualification. Seuls Henderson, Dorais et Rousse étaient parvenus à en gagner deux. Les nombreuses pénalités imposées ont eu effet de secouer l’ordre établi. La parité est telle qu’un photo-finish a été nécessaire pour départager Rousse et Jimmy King lors d’une qualification.

King, le champion défendant, n’a pas été en mesure de se qualifier, tout comme Rémy Leblanc et Patrick Haworth, pourtant parmi les meneurs au classement général.

Les finales consolations ont été l’affaire de deux nouveaux venus, soit Donny Allen et Jonathan Daoust dans le H-15 Constructeck/Canadian Tire.

Lire la nouvelle dans le Journal Saint-François : http://www.journalsaint-francois.ca/sports/2016/7/18/kent-henderson-resiste-a-l-hecatombe.html

Partager

Retour à l'actualité