News

Regates-Course-Wide-FB-low

Conditions could hardly have been better at the Régates de Valleyfield this Saturday, as the first qualifying rounds in the 2.5 litre, Formula 2500, Hydro 350 and Grand Prix classes were held.

The 2.5 litre class witnessed a hard-fought battle between the 2nd and 3rd positions, respectively held by the American Alexis Weber and Salaberry-de-Valleyfield resident Eric McKenna, with only 0.20 seconds separating them in the first heat of qualifications. Kevin Smith is currently in first place with the S-26 DreamWeaver.

Rob Stevenson in front in the Formula 2500 class

Rob Stevenson unexpectedly leads the Formula 2500 after two rounds of qualifications. A first place, followed by a second position gets him closer to the top of the general standings, which is currently held by both Donald Leduc (F-1 Cannonball) and Bobby King (F-242 Crush). Leduc is currently in the 8th position at the end of the day, even if he registered the fastest time in his category (4 min 4 s, 75) in the Q-1-A heat, but was then penalized for dislodging a buoy during the second heat.

Ups and downs for Nicolas Rousse, a fan-favorite

In the Hydro 350 class, Nicolas Rousse lacked consistency. He was penalized for crossing the starting line too early in the first heat, which placed him in 3rd position. He however took the victory in heat Q-2-A.

Richard Haineault and Michel Raymond currently hold the 1st and 2nd places after the Saturday qualifications.

Tight race in the Grand Prix class

The always-impressive Grand Prix class lived up to its hype. Bert Henderson is the winner of the day, with two victories in as many races and the fastest time in his class with the GP-777 Steeler. Americans Marty Wolfe (GP-93 Renegade) and Andrew Tate (GP-101 Fat Chance Too), as well as Quebeckers Pierre Maheu (GP-50 Intensity) and Éric Langevin (GP-12 Long Shot) both took one round of qualification and finished second in the other one.

The relentless work of the Long Shot team paid off. They spent most of the night working on the boat that was damaged the day before.

Brendon Kennedy, one of the favorites, ran into technical problems with the GP-25 H8 Cancer Racing and was unable to finish the second qualification, as he floated off course after missing the fourth turn. Martin Rochon was testing a new motor for the GP-77 Coppertone this weekend, but the trials did not go as planned. Indeed, he did not take part in the first heat and finished in 3rd place in the second one.

A pair of rock stars

In the evening, the park was filled with festivalgoers, who came to see Rosa, Éric Lapointe and the fireworks.

“In the evening only, we estimate that around 17,000 people were in the Park, says Michel Poirier, General Manager of the Régates de Valleyfield. It is one of the largest crowds in the Régates’ history.”

Both artists gave the fans exactly what they came for: an energetic, passionate and electrifying show.

To come on July 17

A third round of qualifications in each class will be held tomorrow, before the consolation finals and the finals. “Four drivers in the Grand Prix class ended the day with 46 points, explains Didier Séguin, Racing Director. Tomorrow’s final will be spectacular.”

Share

Back to News

Actualité

Regates-Course-Wide-FB-low

Les conditions étaient optimales aux Régates de Valleyfield samedi pour la présentation des qualifications en classe 2,5 litres, Formule 2500, Hydro 350 et Grand Prix.

En classe 2,5 litres, le vrai duel s’est disputé entre la 2e et la 3e position, détenues respectivement par l’Américaine Alexis Weber et le Campivallensien Eric McKenna, alors que 0,20 seconde séparaient les deux pilotes lors de la première vague de qualification. Kevin Smith est présentement au premier rang avec le S-26 DreamWeaver.

Rob Stevenson en tête de la Formule 2500

Rob Stevenson a surpris les amateurs en menant la Formule 2500 après deux vagues de qualifications. Une victoire et une seconde position lui permettent donc de s’approcher de la pôle position du classement général, codétenue par Donald Leduc (F-1 Cannonball) et Bobby King (F-242 Crush). Leduc est présentement en 8e position, lui qui a pourtant enregistré le temps le plus rapide de sa catégorie (4 min 4 s, 75) en Q-1-A, mais a été pénalisé pour avoir décroché une bouée lors de la seconde vague.

Des hauts et des bas pour le favori Nicolas Rousse

En classe Hydro 350, le favori de la foule, Nicolas Rousse, a connu une journée en dents de scie, devançant le départ lors de la première qualification, ce qui l’a placé en 3e position. Il s’est repris de belle façon en remportant la vague Q-2-A.

Richard Haineault et Michel Raymond détiennent présentement les deux premières positions à la suite des qualifications du samedi.

Des résultats serrés en Grand Prix

Finalement, la rutilante classe Grand Prix en a mis plein la vue aux milliers de spectateurs réunis au parc Delpha-Sauvé. Bert Henderson a été constant toute la journée, remportant ses deux rondes de qualification et enregistrant le temps le plus rapide de sa classe à bord du GP-777 Steeler. Les Américains Marty Wolfe (GP-93 Renegade) et Andrew Tate (GP-101 Fat Chance Too), ainsi que les Québécois Pierre Maheu (GP-50 Intensity) et Éric Langevin (GP-12 Long Shot) ont tous remporté une vague de qualification et terminé en seconde place lors de l’autre.

Soulignons le travail acharné de l’équipe du Long Shot, qui a peu dormi cette nuit, réparant le bateau endommagé la veille.

Brendon Kennedy, l’un des favoris, a connu des ennuis mécaniques avec le GP-25 H8 Cancer Racing et s’est vu dans l’impossibilité de terminer la seconde vague de qualification, lui qui a dérivé hors de la piste après avoir raté le quatrième virage. Martin Rochon testait un nouveau moteur pour le GP-77 Coppertone cette fin de semaine ; un essai risqué, comme il n’a pu prendre part à la première qualification et a terminé au 3e rang lors de la seconde.

100 % rock

En soirée, le parc débordait littéralement de festivaliers pour les spectacles de Rosa, d’Éric Lapointe et le feu d’artifice.

« Nous estimons avoir accueilli 17 000 personnes en soirée, précise le directeur général des Régates de Valleyfield, Michel Poirier. C’est l’une des meilleures assistances des Régates. »

Les artistes ont donné un spectacle électrisant à la hauteur de leur réputation : entier, énergique, passionné.

Au programme le 17 juillet

Une troisième vague de qualification pour chaque classe se déroulera demain en début de journée, avant la tenue des finales de consolation, puis des finales. « Quatre pilotes Grand Prix ont terminé la journée d’aujourd’hui avec exactement 46 points, précise le directeur des courses, Didier Séguin. La finale de demain sera spectaculaire. »

Partager

Retour à l'actualité