News

Regates-Terry-Rinker-FB-low

Bad weather disturbed the first day of races at the Régates de Valleyfield, this Friday. Rain showers, strong winds and even hail caused damage in the pits and on the course, which led the organization to reluctantly cancel the Friday Challenge.

“It’s unfortunate, said the Racing Director, Didier Séguin. But our main focus is on the well-being of the drivers and volunteers.”

Test runs in the F1, Grand Prix and Hydro 350 classes were completed, as well as a vintage boat show, before menacing clouds made their way over the Bay. “A few docks, the power circuits and the pits sustained damage, added Didier Séguin. It would have taken at least two hours for the course to be back up to the Hydroplane Racing League’s standards.”

In the evening, uncertain weather persisted, but did not stop Stéphanie Bédard and Kaïn from lighting up the Loto-Québec stage during the fourth night of the SAQ series of concerts. The organizing committee estimates that an audience of 13,500 people was on-site throughout the day.

Still to come on July 16

The Saturday racing program was rethought and maximized, as the Grand Prix and F1’s first round of qualifications had to be rescheduled.

The Family Zone and the Coors Light Games will open at 10am for the festival-goers to enjoy. In the evening, Rosa and Éric Lapointe will take the stage and the traditional firework will be featured in between the two shows.

Share

Back to News

Actualité

Regates-Terry-Rinker-FB-low

Mère Nature est venue jouer les troubles-fête aux Régates de Valleyfield, vendredi. Les fortes pluies, le vent et la grêle ont causé des dommages dans les puits et sur le site qui ont poussé l’organisation à annuler à contrecœur le Défi du vendredi.

«C’est regrettable, lance d’emblée le directeur des courses, Didier Séguin. Mais notre priorité demeure la sécurité des pilotes et des bénévoles.»

Des essais F1, Grand Prix et Hydro 350 de même qu’une démonstration vintage ont été réalisés avant qu’un épais nuage noir prenne la baie Saint-François d’assaut. «Certains quais, le circuit électrique et les puits ont été endommagés, poursuit Didier Séguin. Revoir le parcours selon les normes de la Ligue de Régates d’Hydroplanes HRL aurait pris un minimum de deux heures.»

En soirée, le temps incertain n’a pas empêché Stéphanie Bédard et Kaïn d’enflammer la scène Loto-Québec lors des soirées-spectacles SAQ. Le comité organisateur estime que 13 500 personnes ont assisté aux courses et aux spectacles, vendredi.

Au programme le 16 juillet

Le programme des courses de la journée de samedi a été maximisé; on a reporté les qualifications Grand Prix et F1.

La zone familiale et les jeux Coors Light ouvriront dès 10 h pour divertir les festivaliers. Suivront en soirée les spectacles des rockeurs Rosa et Éric Lapointe, entrecoupés du traditionnel feu d’artifice.

Partager

Retour à l'actualité