News

f1-rinker-champion

By Denis Bourbonnais

Tim Seebold wanted his last race at the Régates de Valleyfield to end in a victory, but his biggest rival Terry Rinker had other plans in the US Formula 1 Powerboat class.

The driver from Tampa Bay (Florida) got off to a perfect start in the final, on Sunday, and dominated from start to finish to collect a 2nd victory in a row in Valleyfield. Rinker and his Black Hawk Racing (no. 10) never looked back throughout the 15 laps of the ultimate race, while a hard-fought battle for the second position was taking place behind him.

Californian Greg Foster grabbed the 2nd position early on in the race with the Seaway Marine (no. 53), followed closely by Tim Seebold’s NGK Spark Plug (no. 53). The driver from Osage Beach (Missouri) did all he could to catch up on Foster, but was 1.5 seconds short of his objective. At the beginning of the season, Seebold announced his retirement for the end of the 2016 calendar.

Only 4 other competitors participated in the final; Rob Rinker (30), Jose Mendana Jr (21), Mark Welch (95) and Tyler Welch (59) crossed the finish line in that order. Sunday’s qualifying heat was marked by two incidents involving Canadian Bryan Babineau (241) and Carlos Mendana (13), from Miami (Florida). None of the drivers sustained injuries, but each boat was heavily damaged.

Another Canadian, Morgan Williams, from Tiny (Ontario) had to forfeit the final. Therefore, only 7 of the 10 participants remained, the product of a rather difficult year for the US F1 Powerboat Series. In 2015, 16 boats were registered in Salaberry-de-Valleyfield. Many accidents, including the one that cut Chris Fairchild’s season short, and financial reasons explain the smaller number of racers this year.

Terry Rinker, the champion, took the time to thank his crew and praise the Régates de Valleyfield fans during his interview on the winners’ dock. The Formula 1 class saw 3 different winners being crowned in as many races this season, as Tim Seebold won in La Porte (Indiana) and Greg Foster finished first in Bay City (Michigan).

To read the article in the Journal Saint-François: http://www.journalsaint-francois.ca/sports/2016/7/18/terry-rinker-gache-la-sortie-de-tim-seebold.html [French version only]

Share

Back to News

Actualité

f1-rinker-champion

Par Denis Bourbonnais

Le favori Tim Seebold voulait faire son dernier tour de piste aux Régates de Valleyfield en célébrant une victoire mais son grand rival Terry Rinker avait d’autres idées en tête dans la Formule 1 motonautique.

Le pilote de Tampa Bay (Floride) a pris un départ canon dans la finale, dimanche, et il a dominé de bout en bout pour aligner une 2e gain de suite sur les flots de la baie Saint-François. Rinker n’a jamais été inquiété durant les 15 tours de la course ultime à bord de l’embarcation Black Hawk Racing (nº 10) et c’est plutôt une bataille pour la 2e marche du podium qui a été réservée aux amateurs.

La Californien Greg Foster s’est installé en 2e position dans le Seaway Marine (nº 53) et tout au long de l’épreuve, il a été pourchassé par le NGK Spark Plug (nº 16) de Tim Seebold. Le coureur de Osage Beach (Missouri) a tout fait pour rattraper Foster mais il est arrivé à 1,5 seconde près de son but. Seebold a annoncé au début de l’année qu’il se retirera au terme de la saison 2016.

Seulement 4 autres compétiteurs ont complété le week-end sur l’eau, soit Rob Rinker (30), Jose Mendana Jr (21), Mark Welch (95) et Tyler Welch (59) qui ont suivi au fil d’arrivée en finale. La qualification de dimanche a donné lieu à deux embardées impliquant le Canadien Bryan Babineau (241) et Carlos Mendana (13) de Miami (Floride). Les deux conducteurs n’ont pas été blessés mais leurs embarcations ont été lourdement endommagées.

Un autre Canadien, Morgan Williams, de Tiny (Ontario) a dû déclarer forfait en vue de la finale. Il ne restait donc que 7 des 10 participants lors d’une année plus difficile pour la F1, qui comptait 16 bateaux à Valleyfield en 2015. Des accidents, dont celui qui a mis fin à la saison de Chris Fairchild, et des raisons économiques ont causé cette baisse du nombre d’inscrits cette année.

Quant au champion Terry Rinker, il a louangé les membres de son équipe lors de l’interview réalisée sur le quai des champions et il a rendu hommage aux fans de Valleyfield. La Formule 1 a maintenant 3 gagnants en autant d’événements cette saison puisque Tim Seebold l’avait emporté à La Porte (Indiana) alors que Greg Foster a été le vainqueur à Bay City au Michigan.

Lire la nouvelle dans le Journal Saint-François : http://www.journalsaint-francois.ca/sports/2016/7/18/terry-rinker-gache-la-sortie-de-tim-seebold.html

Partager

Retour à l'actualité