Powered by

The Régates de Valleyfield

A unique event
in North America

A hydroplane is a plane without its wings. Add to this definition a top speed of up to 225 km/h, frequent skidding and extreme thrills.
The Régates de Valleyfield are without a doubt a unique event in North America. Part of the Major International Events Network (MIEN).
The event’s reputation and success is built on dedicated volunteers and loyal business partners. At the Régates de Valleyfield, passion is contagious and enthusiasm is legendary.

The Régates de Valleyfield's DNA

81 years of passion and tradition

1895 : The first motorboat competitions are held in Salaberry-de-Valleyfield as part of public festivities.

1903-1906 : The inception of the first actual racing competitions on bay Saint-François. The boats are equipped with two-stroke engines located in the center of the vessel and their speed varies between 12 and 25 miles per hour.

1938 : Doctor Armand Clairmont, nicknamed the father of the Régates, takes over the event and gives it a more professional and official character. The junior Chamber of Commerce gets involved on the promotional front to develop the tourism industry of the region.

1988 : The Régates de Valleyfield host the US National Championships, which is both an honor and a show of recognition from the motorized regattas’ community. 323 boats are registered to compete in the 50th edition: an all-time record for a motorboat competition.

Today : Since 2001, the Régates de Valleyfield have become an important sports and cultural festival. Added to the hydroplane races, outdoor concerts display a plethora of renowned artists. Hulls are now more aerodynamic and the boats can go up to 225 km/h.

Daniel Brossoit Trophy - 2.5 liters

This trophy honors the memory of Daniel Brossoit, a young driver in his twenties, who embodied the spirit, the hope and the future of the sport. Tragically, he was the victim of the only fatal accident on the Salaberry-de-Valleyfield circuit on Friday, July 5, 1991.
The recipients

Russell Haworth Trophy - Formula 2500

A true pioneer of the 145 class in Canada, Russell Haworth was the first Campivallensian to purchase a hydroplane in 1965. World champion in this class, Russell's record of achievement earned him the nickname Mr. 145. He also distinguished himself as a builder, notably of John Crompton's "Lone Star" and the "Pixie III" piloted by Daniel Brossoit.
In 1994, in recognition of his remarkable career, the Régates de Valleyfield awarded him the honors of Schenley Personality and Honorary Commodore.
The recipients

Jules Leboeuf Trophy - Hydro 350

A new class is born at the beginning of the 2011 season: the Hydro 350, which develops 380 horsepower, compared to the 270 horsepower of the 5-liter class. This novelty allows us to offer a quality show to the fans while respecting the safety of the drivers.

The recipients

Valleyfield Cup — Grand prix

The Grand Prix class is the main attraction of the Régates de Valleyfield. No class has been able to replace in the hearts of Campivallensiens the famous GP 444, Long Gone, Deep Water Special, Miss Danash and Super 7, as well as their talented drivers who have distinguished themselves on the North American circuit. In 2007, sensitive to the expectations of the fans, the organizing committee took the decision to revive these great ladies of the sport.
The recipients

F1 Cup - Formula 1

The recipients

Board of Directors

Didier-Bernard Séguin

President

Émilie Daoust

General Manager

Denis Gervais

Supply

Frédéric Vincent

Procurement, sponsorship and marketing

Gaston Morand

Communications and promotion

Patrick Haworth

Race Director

Guillaume Séguin

PHYSICAL FACILITIES

Lysanne Léger

Ticketing

Ghislain Vincent

Treasurer

Vanessa Benoit

Legal counsel

Stéphane Brault

Security
Permanent Team

André Bourdeau

RESPONSIBLE FOR THE PHYSICAL FACILITIES

Stéphanie Prégent

Accounting

Linda boyer

Director of Partnerships

Janick Tétreault-Moïse

Director of Communications and Marketing

Gabrielle Leblanc

Communications Agent

Jessica Leduc

Administrative Assistant

Laurence Thériault

Customer Service Coordinator

Seasonal

Marielle Gervais

Receptionist

Jean-Claude Campeau

Corporate Sales Representative

Propulsé par la

Les régates de Valleyfield

Un événement unique
en amérique du Nord

Un hydroplane, c’est un avion duquel on a retiré les ailes. À cette définition s’ajoute une vitesse de pointe pouvant atteindre 225 km/h, des dérapages, des sensations extrêmes.
Sans contredit, les Régates de Valleyfield constituent un produit unique dans toute l’Amérique du Nord. Membre du Regroupement des événements majeurs internationaux du Québec (RÉMI).
L’événement doit sa renommée et son succès à ses bénévoles dévoués et à ses fidèles partenaires d’affaires. Aux Régates de Valleyfield, la passion est contagieuse et la fougue est légendaire.

L'ADN des régates c'est

Une histoire de passion et de tradition depuis 81 ans

1895 : Premières traces de compétitions motonautiques dans la région de Salaberry-de-Valleyfield, sous la forme de fêtes populaires.

1903-1906 : Naissent les premières véritables compétitions sur la baie Saint-François. Les embarcations sont munies de moteurs à deux temps, logés au centre du bateau, atteignant des vitesses variant entre 12 et 25 milles à l’heure.

1938 : Le docteur Armand Clairmont, surnommé le père des Régates, remet sur pied l’événement en lui octroyant un caractère professionnel et officiel. La Chambre de Commerce junior de l’époque s’implique dans sa promotion, pour développer l’industrie touristique de la région.

1988 : Les Régates de Valleyfield ont l’honneur de recevoir les Championnats nationaux américains, signe de reconnaissance du monde des régates motorisées. Ils enregistrent alors 323 bateaux pour participer à leur 50e édition : un record de tous les temps dans le domaine du sport motonautique.

Aujourd’hui : Depuis 2001, les Régates de Valleyfield prennent l’allure d’un grand festival sportif et culturel. En plus du programme de courses d’hydroplanes, on y présente en concert une pléiade d’artistes de renom. Les coques sont maintenant plus aérodynamiques, filant à des vitesses de pointe de plus de 225 km/h.

Trophée Daniel Brossoit — 2.5 litres

Ce trophée honore la mémoire de Daniel Brossoit, jeune pilote dans la vingtaine, qui incarnait la fougue, l’espoir, l’avenir du sport motonautique. Tragiquement, il a été victime du seul accident mortel survenu sur le circuit de Salaberry-de-Valleyfield, le vendredi 5 juillet 1991.
Les récipiendaires

Trophée Russel Haworth — Formule 2500

Véritable pionnier de la classe-école 145 au Canada, Russell Haworth est le premier Campivallensien à se porter acquéreur d’un hydroplane en 1965. Champion mondial dans cette classe, le palmarès de Russell lui a valu le surnom de Monsieur 145. Il s’est aussi illustré en tant que constructeur, notamment du «Lone Star» de John Crompton et du «Pixie III» piloté par Daniel Brossoit.
En 1994, pour souligner sa carrière remarquable, les Régates de Valleyfield lui ont attribué les honneurs de Personnalité Schenley et de Commodore honoraire.
Les récipiendaires

Trophée Jules Leboeuf — Hydro 350

Une nouvelle classe voit le jour à l’aube de la saison 2011 : l’Hydro 350. Elle développe 380 chevaux-vapeur, en comparaison aux 270 chevaux-vapeur de la classe 5 litres. Une nouveauté qui permet d’offrir un spectacle de qualité aux amateurs tout en respectant la sécurité des pilotes.

Les récipiendaires

Coupe Valleyfield — Grand prix

La classe Grand Prix, c’est l’attraction principale des Régates de Valleyfield. Aucune catégorie n’a su remplacer dans le cœur des Campivallensiens les fameux GP 444, Long Gone, Deep Water Special, Miss Danash et Super 7, de même que leurs talentueux pilotes qui se sont démarqués sur le circuit nord-américain. En 2007, sensible aux attentes des amateurs, le comité organisateur a pris la décision de faire revivre ces grandes dames du sport motonautique.
Les récipiendaires

Coupe F1 — Formule 1

Les récipiendaires

Conseil d'administration

Didier-Bernard Séguin

Président

Émilie Daoust

Directrice générale

Denis Gervais

Alimentation

Frédéric Vincent

Approvisionnement, commandites et commercialisation

Gaston Morand

Communications et promotion

Patrick Haworth

Directeur des courses

Guillaume Séguin

Aménagement physique

Lysanne Léger

Billetterie

Ghislain Vincent

Trésorier

Vanessa Benoit

Avocat conseil

Stéphane Brault

Sécurité
Permanence

André Bourdeau

RESPONSABLE AUX AMÉNAGEMENTS PHYSIQUES

Stéphanie Prégent

Comptabilité

Linda boyer

Directrice des partenariats

Janick Tétreault-Moïse

Directrices des communications et du marketing

Gabrielle Leblanc

Agente aux communications

Jessica Leduc

Adjointe administrative

Laurence Thériault

Coordonnatrice au service à la clientèle

Saisonnier

Marielle Gervais

Réceptionniste

Jean-Claude Campeau

Représentant des ventes corporatives